Site icon Casino Games Online Reviews – Guide on casinos, games, bonus in India

Who will win the Orange Cap for the IPL 2023 Season?

orange cap in IPL

IPL time is always a fun time, especially if the team that you are supporting does well. You want to see some thrilling performances and close games. The skills on display are unreal, as all the talented players from across the world gather together to put on a show.

Batsmen are the focal point in the tournament because people want to be entertained and what better way than to see the ball being hit to the boundary. During the IPL, you will see various kinds of batsmen, the ones with touches, ones with power, ones who rely on timing, and so on. The role of different batters is different, but each plays a crucial role in the team.

To acknowledge the hard work of batsmen throughout the IPL season, there is an award in place for the batsman with the most runs during the IPL season, the orange cap. 


Who will win the orange cap 2023?

Orange cap is the prestigious cap that a leading run-scorer for a IPL season gets. During the season, the cap keeps on changing hands and then finally settles on the head of the batsman with maximum runs during the season.

Let us have a look at the probable players who could win the orange cap this season.

Virat Kohli

Virat is a batsman who needs no introduction. He is an absolute legend of the game and loves the battle. Virat takes down even the best of bowlers with ease, which makes it even more difficult for the opposing captain.

Virat Kohli has already won the orange cap once when he scored a staggering 973 runs in a single IPL season. This is still the record for maximum runs in a single IPL season. The record came in 2016 when Virat was at his absolute best, smashing 100s for fun. He scored 4 centuries in that IPL season and had an average of 81 and a strike rate of 152.

Virat began the 2023 IPL season with a bang, as he smashed MI bowlers to remain 82 not out and took his team comfortably over the line. If these are anything but the signs to come, we could see Virat donning the orange cap once again.

Jos Buttler

Jos, the boss, is in pretty good touch in the IPL 2023 so far. In the previous IPL season, he won the orange cap, as he took on the bowlers and deposited balls to all parts of the ground. In the 2022 IPL season, Jos scored 863 runs at an impressive average of 57 and a deadly strike rate of almost 150.

This season Buttler will be opening for Rajasthan Royals where his major role will be to utilise powerplay and bat as deep as possible. Given the power and the talent that he possesses, he could well end up winning the orange cap for the IPL 2023 season.

Also Read: The Top 5 IPL Betting Apps of 2023

David Warner

David Warner is the only batsman who has won the orange cap thrice. He has won the orange cap in 2015, 2017, and 2019.

Warner has begun the IPL 2023 season decently and scored runs, but not the way we are used to seeing him score runs. He has a strike rate of under 120 and that is quite a worrying sign for Delhi, as they expect him to get them off to a flying start. Other top order batters of Delhi have struggled and that has restricted Warner from playing his natural game.

If Warner returns to his best, opposition bowlers will have a hard time stopping him. The man who has done it thrice, can surely do it one more time.

Shubman Gill

Shubhman Gill is a talented young batsman who has been in some tremendous white-ball form lately. He has recently scored a double century in ODIs and 100 in T20I against New Zealand.

Currently, Gill is opening the innings for the defending champions Gujarat Titans. He has begun the season with some classy knocks, but needs to play big knocks if he wants to win the orange cap. Gill has been consistent and scored over 400 runs in each season for the last three years.

Other Contenders to Win the Orange Cap IPL 2023

According to the recent form, current stats, and skills of the players, following batsmen could also win the orange cap.

Also Read: How to bet on IPL Cricket Online: Quick Step by Step Guide

Rules for IPL 2023 Orange Cap

Orange cap is awarded each year for a batsman who scores the maximum runs in a single IPL season. During the IPL season, the orange cap keeps on floating from one batsman to the other, depending on who is the leading run-scorer at that point in time.

Orange Cap winners History

There have been many talented batsmen to win the orange cap over the years, the first one to do so was Shaun Marsh. Following table shows the entire list of orange cap winners since the inception of IPL in 2008.

2008Shaun MarshPunjab Kings11616
2009Matthew HaydenChennai Super Kings12572
2010Sachin TendulkarMumbai Indians15618
2011Chris GayleRoyal Challengers Bangalore12608
2012Chris GayleRoyal Challengers Bangalore15733
2013Michael HusseyChennai Super Kings16733
2014Robin UthappaKolkata Knight Riders16660
2015David WarnerSunrisers Hyderabad14562
2016Virat KohliRoyal Challengers Bangalore16973
2017David WarnerSunrisers Hyderabad14641
2018Kane WilliamsonSunrisers Hyderabad17735
2019David WarnerSunrisers Hyderabad12692
2020KL RahulPunjab Kings14670
2021Ruturaj GaikwadChennai Super Kings16635
2022Jos ButtlerRajasthan Royals17863


  1. Who has won the Orange Cap the most?

David Warner has won the orange cap the most, winning it three times.

  1. Who will win the orange cap in IPL 2023?

Many batsmen are in line to win the orange cap in IPL 2023, currently the strongest contender is Ruturaj Gaikwad.

  1. To whom is the orange cap given?

Orange cap is given to a batsman who scores maximum runs in a single IPL season.

  1. Who won the Orange Cap in 2022?

Jos Buttler won the orange cap in 2022, where he scored 863 runs.

  1. What are the maximum runs scored by a batsman in a single IPL season?

Virat Kohli’s 973 runs in a single IPL season is the record for most runs in a single IPL season by a batsman.

Exit mobile version